It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, having a year off between the end of school and the beginning of the university path has become extremely popular. This essay will demonstrate that taking this rest time can help young people to have good moral stability but can also lead to such problems as a negative influence on academic grades. This popular tendency to have a year off between school and university helps students to ensure beneficial psychological health crucial to prepare for the next years to come. The youngest’s need to enjoy a limited time period to simply disconnect and rest to erase accumulated tensions. Consequently, they are going to be able to prepare properly for their future path. For example, a survey conducted by Harvard in 2010 showed that four out of five teenagers who have experienced this year off between school and university considered this decision beneficial to their moral well-being and essential for the following years. The increasing arrival of this free period has had a terrible impact on students' results. By making this decision, teenagers are interrupting their usual and natural academic progression. As a result of this, these boys and girls are experiencing difficulties when returning to university. For instance, an article published by the Oxford Journal Gazette demonstrates that this popular year off has a negative impact on 80% of the total academic results of students who decided to take it. To conclude, although this rest time between the end of our scholarship and the beginning of advanced studies helps to ensure a well moral situation and an important preparation period, it can also disturb significantly academic performance.