In the future, self driving cars will replace human drives. Is that a positive or negative development

The rise of technological advancement has greatly contributed to the emergence of inventions, such as self-driving cars that would eventually replace human drives. This current development would cause various drawbacks, including increased unemployment, laziness, and huge segmentation between citizens. Firstly, one of the most common problems that would occur is the surge in unemployment due to the transition to using driverless vehicles. For instance, people who work in transportation services, such as drivers would be the most affected. Transportation companies will no longer need the service of drivers due to the occurrence of driverless vehicles. This undoubtedly leads to the loss of jobs and, in the end, increases the poverty rate. Another issue is the widespread lazy culture within the society since everything become easier to achieve. For example, if an individual wants to go to the supermarket to buy groceries, they can use the self-driving car as the vehicle without having to worry about driving it. As a result, laziness would be a common occurrence. Last but not least, on the top of an iceberg, a bigger gap between each socio-economic status of citizens would happen. The rich will become richer since they have the necessary resources to purchase the car and will not be directly impacted by the loss of employment. On the other hand, the poor will remain the same, even worse. In conclusion, the trend of self-driving cars will ultimately be a catastrophe to society in general with various downsides. Therefore, this is not a positive development.