Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Do you think this is a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Children are purchased anything they demand and are given full permission to them by their parents. In the writer’s opinion, this is an inappropriate approach to parenting as it can make children irresponsible and in the long-term cause dependence on parents along with poor financial management. Bringing up children in a style that lets them have what they desire all the time is improper and it renders a child to become negligent. In other words, it can be easily observed that parents love their children, but not all of them realize that their actions are actually doing more harm than good. Additionally, when children have their guardians behind their backs, they will take advantage of it and try to cause trouble without having to be accountable for what they did. Thus, this will slowly form a habit making the young detrimentally influenced. Over-reliance on parents among children is the result of using the wrong parenting strategy. That is to say, since the little ones always get whatever they want after they ask, they gradually go into thinking that this will be true forever. Consequently, as they grow up, they will lack the ability to thrive on their own, the ability to make their own money and buy what they want. Therefore, it is evident that the young will be negatively affected in the future. It must be recognized that children might not know how to handle money when they reach adulthood. This is because they only receive so they do not know the value of money and hard work. This, in turn, will greatly affect the way they see money and how they spend it, leading to money getting wasted on non-essential activities or items. For instance, a recent study from financial services company Bread Financial revealed that 28% of Gen Z have made purchases within a video game. In conclusion, nurturing a child in a carefree style is not suitable, causing them to act imprudently. If parents continue to raise their offspring like this, they will not be able to survive without their help as well as inefficient control over money.