In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

There is a clear indication that small local shops have gone bankrupt due to a huge portion of customers preferring to buy from large shops or malls. From my standpoint, this is a negative development due to various drawbacks, such as an increase in unemployment, a surge in poverty rate, and a rise in countries' fund allocation. One prominent problem that could happen because of the closing of small local stores is an increase in the unemployment rate. In other words, when a shop is bankrupt, they will not need the service of their workers again and lay off all the workers. Ultimately, this would make the people jobless and the proportion of the unemployed population would surge as well. Secondly, another issue is the increasing percentage of poverty within the nation. For instance, a huge layoff phenomenon due to stores closing could cause massive damage to citizens. Especially for those people who rely on the job to support their family and make a living on a day-to-day basis. Thus, individuals are forced to sell their property, such as their home to be able to support their needs. In the end, the possibility of them being homeless is foreseeable. Finally, after the occurrence of various issues, the nation could directly take a huge hit. In other words, a nation is responsible for the welfare of its citizens, including providing basic necessities and general care. In order to do so, they need to give funds to those populations, however, with the rise of poverty they need to make huge money allocations. In conclusion, the closing of small local shops has contributed greatly to negatives to the society and government. Thus, I believe that this is not a positive trend and the government should help the small stores to make them competitive in today's era.