Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that economic growth is the only solution to ending poverty and food insecurity, whereas others think that it has detrimental effects on the environment and therefore should be ended. In my perspective, both viewpoints are correct, but stopping it completely would not be a wise choice. As a country’s economy thrives, the rate of hunger and poverty can indeed be reduced along with it. This is because it creates job opportunities, increases income levels, and enhances access to important resources such as food, healthcare, and education, contributing to the improvement of the overall well-being and living standards of the population. Besides, it also stimulates investments in infrastructure, agriculture, or social welfare programs, which can directly benefit those suffering from poverty. There are historical proofs that can support the link between economic prosperity and poverty. For instance, over the past few decades, countries like China, India, and many others have experienced significant economic expansion and have been able to lift millions of people out of poverty. However, although this trend has numerous benefits, its potential downsides to the ecological system should not be overlooked. When a country succeeds economically, there will unarguably be more cars on the roads, more factories and companies will be established, and there will be higher demand for spare land, which are the main culprits of global problems like air pollution, resource depletion, and habitat loss. As a result, not only do humans suffer, but different types of animals and plants’ lives are left in danger. But in my opinion, instead of bringing the economy utterly to an end, countries should increase government spending on alternatives such as renewables, sustainable agriculture, and life below water so that communities can flourish financially without needing to worry about the environment. In conclusion, it is obvious that without the expansion of the economy, there would not be adequate job prospects, quality education, or healthcare, so it is important that governments seek other alternative ways to tackle environmental issues.