More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, obesity have become a problem for majority of people. Some argue that whether the most efficient method to solve this issue is to raise prices of unhealthy foods. Personally, I firmly agree with this stance, the following content will outline the reasons. Firstly, the price is the most crucial factor which enormously affect consumers' preference. Most fast food restaurants, such as KFC, McDonald and Hungry Jack, use cheaper prices and large amount of food to attract buyers. These strategies not only efficiently bring numerous of customers to eat their food but also reduce the production cost during the process which offer greater benefits to these brands. However, low quality and large amount of food is detrimental to buyers' health condition. As a result, raising the price of the unhealthy food can make it less preferable to customers and force fast food brands to change their productions. Most fast food industry use low quality ingredients which might have negative impacts on human body. Hence, by forcing producers of foods to increase the selling price can indirectly encourage them to use higher quality of ingredients. For example, a lower price product currently regarded as competitive, nevertheless, if every brand are forced to raise their prices to the same number, the quality and health value would become the elements which are more vital to influence consumers' preference. Therefore, increasing prices can only haave a positive influence on food providers to enhance their products. Generally, raising price has positive impacts on both consumers and food industry, the former can obtain healthier food and the latter can raise their products' quality. Of these, I strongly believe the higher price of fattening foods is an essential policy.