In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Rural-urban migration being a widespread trend all over the world leads to a decrease in the countryside population. From my perspective, this is a negative development which can be a reason for overpopulation in cities and cultural erosion of countryside. One serious problem that can arise from urbanization is that this can lead to cities facing the risk of overpopulation. Overcrowding is a negative factor for people populations, this is the reason for increasing incidences of diseases, depletion of natural resources or even environmental deterioration in this area. For instance, the coronavirus incidence might not spread that fast, if the population of China cities was normal but not excessive. Furthermore, the more amount of humans the more food, water, fuels and other resources are needed which inevitably leads to depletion of them in a certain areas which then ends in environmental deterioration and destruction. Another issue is that demographic shifts alter the socio-cultural landscape of rural areas. Unfortunately, some distinctive features such as cultural practices, traditions or languages might diminish or completely vanish. This scenario is widely known, for instance, in Russia where there are many different nations often living in harsh weather and economic settings with poor quality of life. These people were forced to make a movement from such areas. In conclusion, although it has become more popular for people to live in cities, it has brought about serious problems for both urban and rural inhabitants and even for the environment for this to be considered a positive trend. For a better life in these settings than this is nowadays the right decision would be to make rural areas more attractive with high standards of health, comfort and happiness for citizens.