Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Assessments are vital to evaluate the progression of learners. While some people believe that traditional written examination are most effective method of evaluation, other argue that modern methods should are more appropriate. I totally agree with the latter view as there are ample reasons to substantiate it. First and foremost, the advocates of traditional method of exminations examination are claim that it is the most convenient method of evaluation for the academic performance. In other words, since students, teachers and parents are familiar with this method, the knowledge of the subjects can be asessed accessed easly. Moreover, every leaners will get equal chance to achieve their goals. For example, since educational institutions are masking student identification on the writtien paper,any students can get high score based on their answers without any bias. Nevertheless, the written examinations are not an effective of assessment in the modern era. The traditional examinations scores are based on the momorisation memorization of answer which is insuficient to combat in the highly competitive world. In detail, the contemporary asessment methods like assignments and critical reviews are vital to analyse the overall performace of students. To exemplify, University of Ulster is completely rely on assignment and research based evaluation to assess their online learning students. Besides, professional courses like engineering and medicines require more practical knowlege that theory, therefore, practical based evaluations are imperative. In conclusion, Although written examinations are provide convenience and equality for all students, advanced methods likes assignments and critical review are vital to asess overall performance. I believe that modern approches are beneficial that traditional wirtten examinations.