In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, various nations experience an increasing trend in longer life expectancy worldwide. On one hand, certain individuals believe that this ageing phenomenon may induce substantial issues for governments. On the other hand, the nation tends to view this as more positive hence it has plenty of social benefits. This essay will discuss both stances and showcase how the existence of the elderly populace significantly outweighs the drawbacks caused to the state and economy. The ageing society causes a plethora of issues that may destabilize the governmental systems. One example could be the unemployment of young job seekers. For instance, the majority of companies currently tend to hire more experienced older candidates for ently level jobs. Sunsequently, this results in young workers being jobless and more dependent on welfare programs as in the case of Germany in the last two decades. However, it is an undisputed fact that the elderly community has a handful of positive impacts on society in general. One focal point can be the knowledge exchange. For example, in many traditional societies, the elderly were holders of ancient wisdom given to them by ancestors and this practice from oldest to youngest can be the reason for overall human evolution. Another example of benefits from the ageing trend might be hindsight perspectives from seniors which can bring historical consciousness to younger generations and help them to build a more comprehensive understanding of civilization and its development. In conclusion, the ageing issue has been hugely overexaggerated in recent years and certainly has its disadvantages in matter of unemployment rates. However, despite of accusations on older people, I definitely believe that knowledge transfer and historical outlook provided by seniors significantly exceed its drawbacks in hind sight.