There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend to have a small family rather than a large one is becoming more common worldwide. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having a small family overshadow the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, having a small family may be beneficial for a few underlying reasons. Firstly, it can be cost-effective to maintain a smaller family since they only have a few members to take care of. In fact, their financial plan can be simpler as they do not have to consider too many variables, thus it will be easier to save money for future or urgent needs as well. In contrast, a bigger family may result in bigger financial spending. Secondly, attention to children can be divided equally to make sure they are well-cared and their needs are fulfilled. To illustrate, each child may experience different struggles and they need their parents' guidance on that. The parents can divide their roles, approaching their children individually with different solutions they are able to offer; if their children are facing difficulty in studying different subjects, the mother may offer to help teach them science subjects, while the father may teach them social sciences. Therefore, no one is left behind and the intimacy between each family member can be ensured. On the other hand, there are also some potential challenges that small families should be aware of. To begin with, it will be harder to manage house chores quickly, especially if everyone in the family is busy and no one is helping with doing housework. Moreover, issues regarding lack of diversity and social ability may also occur due to fewer siblings at home to interact with. In conclusion, the positive effects of having few crowds in a family rather than a large number of people are that harmony as well as intimacy can be well-maintained, and they can spend less money. On the contrary, the demerits are a lack of exposure to diversity and assistants in the family.