More and more people are shifting to a plant-based diet. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many cultures have traditionally followed a meat -based diet, but an increasing number of people are now replacing animal products in their diet with plant-based foods. This essay will examine the key drivers of this trend and argue that it is a largely positive development. The most common reasons for becoming a vegan seem to be based on ethical or environmental concerns. In recent years, confronting information about practices involved in some large-scale meat and dairy farming has emerged, such as the inhumane conditions in which some animals are raised, transported and killed. As a consequence, many people feel they can no longer ethically justify eating meat. We are also now better informed about the massive contribution of livestock farming to deforestation and greenhouse gas emissions compared to that of growing plant crops, leading many people who are concerned about climate change to avoid eating meat. This trend towards plant-based eating is generally positive. A diet of fruit, vegetables and whole grains has numerous health benefits, including preventing cardiovascular diseases and diabetes. If more people adopt this way of eating, the taxpayer burden of treating these health conditions, which are often associated with a heavily meat -based diet, may decrease. More importantly, as consumption of meat and dairy falls, production levels will follow suit, helping to reduce carbon emissions and preserve carbon-storing forests. A major shift away from animal products would have negative consequences for that industry, however. Mitigation strategies would need to be implemented to prevent unemployment and build resilience in farming communities. To conclude, a desire to be more compassionate towards other living creatures and less destructive of the environment seems to be the main impetus for the current rise in plant-based eating. While a vegan diet rich in whole foods is undoubtedly positive for the health of people and the planet, a wholesale transition away from meat will need to be carefully managed.