In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The automated industry is progressively adopting Artificial Intelligence technology to streamline operations and improve overall automobile performance. Autonomous vehicles heavily rely on technology, so far, such expertise has never been proven error-free in non-human operated vehicles. In my opinion, the demerits outweigh the merits and my viewpoints will be discussed in the following paragraphs with suitable examples and conclusions. To begin with, the fundamental problem of such Al-operated motor vehicles is the potential loss of jobs for millions of drivers across the globe. For instance, truckers, taxi drivers, and car-sharing where driving is their primary occupation. Another major shortcoming of fully automated vehicles is that not all roads are them, some nations have poor road conditions with ditches and holes, and insufficient traffic lights, which will hinder the Al's performance and because of it cannot run smoothly. In addition, legal questions will be raised if involved in a collision who will be held responsible for the accident as there is no driver operating the vehicle? For instance, the report from Channel News Asia informed a woman died because of a driverless vehicle created a huge uproar because the court of law cannot decide who is to be punished as the vehicle was not driven by the human who caused the accident, but it was the technology which malfunctioned during the accident. On the other hand, technology-made mistakes are exceedingly fewer than man-made blunders. When it comes to road safety and casualties such Al driven vehicle contributed to a lesser accident rate. As a good example, data gathered from the Traffic Police Department globally proves that with the rising number of fully automated vehicles on the road, crash rates have reduced considerably. Furthermore, such autonomous vehicles will dramatically reduce air pollution caused by fuel-operated motor vehicles, which in return will contribute to positive climate change. To conclude, in my view, driverless motor vehicles have greater disadvantages than advantages considering the technological, economic, and legal factors.