For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extend do you agree?

People argue whether schools must add computer skills as the main skills besides reading, writing, and math or not. In this essay, I absolutely agree with the statement that computer skills should be practiced since elementary school as a compulsory course. Corporate jobs in this modern era involve computers as the main tool of work. With this requirement, the job applicants who are dominated by fresh graduates from colleges should at least be proficient in basic software such as Microsoft Word and PowerPoint. Those two software are needed for administration and presentation purposes, which is the core function of a corporation. The demand for computer expertise is not only limited to the jobs related to IT but also other professions. Besides the common software stated before, skillful in particular domain software is also a plus value to the graduates. For instance, job applicants who want to be scientists have to master a specific program to record and simulate their experiments. Not only for college students, introduction to computers must be done as early as possible. The children who have just started their formal education in elementary school must gain computer knowledge as well. This means the subject might be not complex like learning how to code or operate a specific mathematic software such as Matlab. Besides, the teacher could teach them about the purpose of computer invention to ease human work, as well as initiate a practical lesson such as: how to operate a computer and write an essay on online platforms. As a result, the student interest will be established, and get used to operating computers to help with their daily task. In conclusion, with being aware of the increased demand for operating computers as the must-have skill in the job market nowadays, educational institution needs to adjust the curriculum by adding computer skills from elementary school to college. Hence, the student will be prepared and well-equipped.