Many people feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with an increasing development of technological advances individuals utilise devices like computers, phones and laptops more often compared to the past. Consequently, some argue that a habit of using social media negatively affects people's concentration whereas others think the opposite. I truly agree with the former statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, online interaction distracts an individual from essential activities causing troubles in the future. Participating in social neworks can become an addictive activity which creates financial and educational difficulties, as the person do not have enough time to complete work or study tasks. For example, research has shown that online socialising for more than four hours a day leads to the reluctant behaviour and lazyness. As a result, prioritising online interactions over work and study will cause poor results and disconnection with collegues. Moreover, some online platforms encourage their users to engage in games and online competitions. Gaming is another detrimental factor which adversely affect not just work, but relationship in the family. For instance, if the person spends most of the time playing computer games, it become extremely hard to contribute spare time and energy to the activities with your loved once. Therefore, the lack of interaction with relatives results in family conflicts and even divorce. In conclusion, even though social media offers great opportunities for entertaining purposes, excessive use of digital devices negatively impacts relationship in a family, sucess at work and study accomplishment.