You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society? You should write at least 250 words.

Currently, in a lot of nations, there are fewer pupils who are studying science courses in university. This essay will explain the causes of this issue and will mention the impacts it has on the community. There are two considerations that have led to this development. The first of these is that parents are allowing their children to decide the subjects they wish to study, hence these young ones do not feel pressured to do difficult courses such as medicine. The other reason is that in certain schools, students are drafted into science classes according to their grades. As the pass mark for science subjects in certain countries are very high, only a small percentage of pupils are admitted. For example, in Nigeria, the JAMB result needed to get into the science faculty is high, and if not gotten universities often give the students admission into art courses. This has increased the number of people in the Art department. This development has numerous impacts on the community. On the good side, children would be less stressed when they get to choose the subjects they love. To illustrate, in India, there is an increasing number of depressed engineering students as a large sum of them were forced to take the course. However, the downside to this is that in the future, there will be less scientific professionals which might limit the development of the nation in certain areas. Take Nigeria as an example, the hospitals are constantly understaffed because fewer students are allowed to study medicine. Therefore there will be workers who are overworked. In conclusion, the independence of choice given to youngsters in choosing their tertiary subjects and the high pass mark of some science courses have resulted in the limited number of students taking science subjects nowadays. This has both positive effects including less stress and negative implications such as a reduced number of employees who are scientifically inclined.