Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Nowadays, despite the scientific achievements, the absolute majority of people deems that we need to do our best to protect the environment. After all, a fair part of these likens animals to humans and believes that all experiments with the animal kingdom should be forbidden forever. In this essay, the advantages and disadvantages of this idea will be represented. At the first glance, some creatures especially most of mammals are really similar to us in many senses. Furthermore, it has been scientifically proven that large-brained ones are able to experience feelings and emotions like us. Therefore, it is utterly a bad idea to exploit and hurt our so-called smaller friends and it would be highly reasonable to take care and protect them instead. On the flip side of the coin, without experimentation on animals we would have never succeeded the modern-day progress at all. For instance, many medicines would not be available nowadays etc. The reason is absolutely straightforward: we have much in common with mammals; firstly, because of being belong to the same class and secondly, we descended from (one/a) common ancestor according to the Darwin’s theory. As a consequence, we have similar genetics and morphological features and for those reasons we have only (one/a) wise and justifiable decision – to resort to conducting some research on rats, apes etc. just to avoid the identical ones on humans. In conclusion, although we cannot completely avoid conducting research on animals, there are sometimes a lot of indirect ways to investigate something. For example, programming is just one of them. Experts can build a model with the help of programs. However, our bodies’ structures are complicated and not all mathematical models show a real picture and programming in this case will not solve anything. For those reasons, the direct studies and research are necessary and have to be done but it is highly critical to find the golden ratio in this question.