Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a variety of imported products are on sale, replacing domestic products at many supermarkets. This essay will explore several reasons for this trend, and I will express my position that I have a positive attitude towards the increase of imported stuff for individuals while balancing with local products is also important for sustainable growth in domestic industries. To begin with, the advancement both in logistics and supermarket business is one of the major reasons for the surge in sales of import products. The immense advancement in logistics contributes to the delivery of a variety of fresh foods, including fish, fruits and vegetables, to wider areas on a global scale. Subsequently, a lot of supermarkets can sell these products in a consistent level of quality at their branches worldwide. Moreover, a variety of imported products also increases individuals' interest in buying and choosing products by their preferences. On the other hand, this increase in the delivery of imported goods impacts domestic industries in a negative way, as their sales might decline. However, nowadays, people are becoming very aware of the importance of local products, which are evidently fresh and safe, as consumers can know the actual place to make and manufacture at. For example, many local communities hold a fresh market regularly worldwide, to showcase local products their merits. Nowadays, these market events are significantly popular with not only residents, but also tourists as they can get special products which are only made in the places. In summary, I wholeheartedly believe that the increase in sales of imported products is a positive development for people, in terms of affordability and flexibility in shopping. However, we should take domestic products into account as one of our choices, as the continuous growth in the domestic economy is also considered important in every country.