In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students’ abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students’ abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks?

Students in some countries take official exams that are provided by top officials to evaluate students ' abilities. This essay will argue that despite bad results from it make children less confident, advantages of taking exams more outweight than disadvantages, because this is useful method to assess and improve quality of learnings in schools. Governments provide general guidelines and standards to ensure that all students have same oportunity to get same level of education. However, every teachers have diffrent approaches in teaching, and every students have different ability to learn things. While some may have supportive parents, some may not. Therefore, while some schools are more student-oreinted, some may not. Because of this reason, some countries set the exams in every schools to assess the students general ability, and examining the how effective of the educational system and how well teachers performance are. For example, in my country, exams are held each year for every pupils in each grade. If the overall performance of the school is poor, its management would be ordered to take additional steps to enhance general performance. Nevertheless, there could be the minor disadvantage of imposing formal exams for pupils. All exams cannot assess students general ability accurately. Consquently, children tend to be discouraged learining things when they get lower scores, or by comparing others' perrformance. Particularly, mandating exams in the elementary schools is not appropriate. it make them more stressful, thinking themselves as bad and foolish ones. For example, few years ago in my country, pupils in elementary school are exempted from formal exams. In conclusion, I believe that benefits of taking exams are more outweight of its drawbacks, because it can be an important criteria to evaluate the existing education system, and further improvements.