Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the country side. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve the situation ?

Young adults are migrating to cities, leaving behind the older generation in the suburbs. This phenomenon will cause the countryside to be depleted in human resources and become underdeveloped. To address this predicament the government has to incentivize companies to open competitive job vacancies in the countryside. The urbanization of the young generation will deplete the population of the productive age group in the suburban areas. The lack of productive resources inflicts a slowdown in the countryside ’s development. Young people usually are the ones who initiate and drive the changes, when they are no longer there, the remaining will face difficulty to continue developing the areas. Moreover, underdeveloped areas usually have insufficient public facilities. The residents will have to travel to the nearby town which adds up to another problem for elderly people. For example, people in Maninda must travel around three hours before reaching a hospital in Makassar, due to lack of infrastructure. To tackle these issues, the authorities should be involved in forcing the employers to provide competitive paying jobs in the countryside. This measure is the most viable way to keep the younger generation from moving out to the cities. If there are lucrative vacancies in their hometown, they will consider staying and working there without having to migrate. Thus, they can also participate in developing their hometown and enhancing the communities. For instance, many factories open up positions for locals in Gunung Kidul. Young adults have various job options and competitive salaries. Most of them choose to stay and develop the communities. In conclusion, the countryside is losing its young population owing to urbanization and leaving the older age group behind. This situation causes the areas to lose their productive residents and hinders development. In order to answer these emerging problems, the municipality has to take part in providing jobs to keep the young residents from migrating.