10/2 Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, because of the growing population, finding out the measure to deal with people's accomodation has become a vital issue for the society. Some regard keeping old buildings as a waste of resources, therefore, new buildings should be built. Personally, I firmly agree with this stance, and the following content will outline my reasons. Historical buildings can not only waste money but also have some potential risks to residents. After long-time usage, the structure of buildings might be damaged and fragile, as a result, fares of regular maintainence will be higher as the usage time extended. Moreover, some irreversible and hided damages might threaten residents' health and even lives. For instance, the tolerance and duration of buildings could be lower, due to the stronger destruction from disasters. Hence, to renew these ancient accomodation could be both money and life savers. Furthermore, the design of previous constructions might not suitable for the current human population. For example, compared with an apartment, single level houses are not the first choice for architects and designers, because more space is needed in rural areas. Moverover, the lifestyle of people in the city has changed, entertaining areas, shopping malls and restaurants are essential for stressful and fast-paced workers, hence, redesign of residential districts is crucial in order to suit people's demand. In conclusion, safety and financial concerns could be persuative reasons to rebuild historic accomodation. Moreover, more comfortable and suitable designs for rural residents can efficiently use the lands which locate in the city. Therefore, I strongly believe renew these old buildings could be beneficial for the community.