Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying to alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is positive and negative development?

Nowadays, the majority of people prefer to alternative treatments rather than consulting their doctors and these preferences can be perceived either as positive or negative developments. It is essential to analyze both sides of the coin to understand the broader impact on individuals and communities. On the one hand, with the increased number of people, it is unrealistic to expect doctors to give attention to all their patients. The reasons, such as insufficient hospitals and inadequate medical staff, pose obstacles to enhancing facilities in the medical sector. Especially, people in developing countries face expensive medicines that they cannot afford. Another reason is related to environmental concern advocated by ecology activists. For instance, the production of some medicines not only adversely affects the environment but also impacts living creatures. On the other hand, the overuse of herbal remedies may damage internal organs, potentially leading to the need for a kidney transplant. Furthermore, the consumption of herbal products to which one is allergic can result in skin reactions. Another drawback of relying on alternative treatments is the difficulty in distinguishing well-intentioned practitioners from those with malicious intentions within this field. As a result, it makes people susceptible to being deceived by these kinds of people. For instance, with the advancement of social media platforms, nowadays, although influencers promote health products that are not reliable, people who watch them tend to buy these products. In conclusion, while the ongoing debate on people's preferences for alternative remedies is widespread, I advocate the importance of striking a balance between the two treatment methods. In the view of my bias, it is neither a positive nor a negative development.