With deforestration, urban development and illigal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitats and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measuers can be taken to deal with this problem.

In the first part of this essay I am going to analyse the reasons behind the increasing threats to animal lives and their habitats, leading to their extinction. Hurban developement is one of the the main reasons for which deforestation is happening; In the year 1,000 the world population was counting about 250,000 individuals, while at today, year 2024 we are close to 8 billion, hence, the need of more housing. Entire forests, small ecosystems, are wiped to make space to new cities. Even if builders try to relocate some of the animals the majority of them get wiped in the process. Nonetheless other species get affected by such relocation. Another reason for deforestation is the increasing demand of paper products and packaging, we all know that plastic is absolutely deadly for the environment, entire countries are now banning it to make space to environment friendly options. For example, let's think abuout shopping bags, in Australia all plastic shopping bags are now replaced by their paper version, straws, food packaging, many things that were once made with plastic are now completely replace, therefore an increasing demand is causing a bigger amount of forests deplated, with animals loosing their homes. Illegal hunting and human greed are also affecting this problem. Illegal hunting of species that are already at risk, or as it is happening in Africa the hunt elephants and lions for their horns and heads to sell to collectionists. Another cause of deforestation, altough minimal compared to the previous ones, is the use of wood as fuel. How many of us have a fireplace at home? A lot of species that are vital to human life like bees, are disappearing, it is very important for us to do everything in our power to protect them. Measure can be taken to prevent the destruction that took place for the past years, for example, we could reduce packaging use. When we go to the supermarket, our dairy food get packed into small plastic bags and then wrapped in a couple of layers of paper, is that necessary?? Do we need a fire place at home? I believe everybody can help, we just need to change our mindset.