Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of imported foods from all around the world. Does this advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Nowadays, imported food has become easier to find in supermarkets. However, this has become a contentious issue because it is slowly replacing local food. This disadvantage outweighs the advantages. Although importing may suffice the national needs of consumption, it would negatively affect the local economy. Due to the increased population, it may be challenging for a country to suffice the national consumption solely by producing alone. Hence, the presence of imports would benefit the government to fill the gaps. Furthermore, Given the capacity of mass production, importing from another country may be an option. For instance, Thailand is known for producing rice efficiently; thus, it would be better to import rice from Thailand on a large scale to fulfil national consumption. On the other hand, promoting activities of import may reduce the demand for products manufactured domestically. Moreover, the impact of imported foods on a large scale is making domestic products more vulnerable and causing people, like farmers, to lose their jobs. The government needs to regulate the import quota because it helps to protect the market for domestic products. Suppose a country overfloods with imported food; therefore, the country would lose its potential revenues from the public. For instance, statistics show the increased demand for imported fruits from Thailand affects local farmers in Indonesia by 30%. In summary, more imported food in supermarkets compared to local food creates more harm than good. Although it satisfies the increased demand for imported food, it harms local producers as it reduces the demand for domestic products.