University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages? these days many students continue their higher education in foreign countries. the main benefit for students studying abroad is access to higher quality education and improved job prospects.

In the past years there have been an increase in the preference of studying abroad. Some people believe that it can be beneficial to enhance our skill and knowledge due to the higher education quality, along with the higher chance to be accepted in higher paying jobs. While there are some benefits for studying abroad, in my opinion the benefits are equal to the disadvantages. There are several positive qualities derived from studying abroad. Firstly, there are various options of high-quality education institutions abroad, therefore we can have more comprehensive skills and knowledge in the same amount of teaching period. Secondly, studying abroad and living alone can form a person to be self-sufficient, enhancing various pupil’s soft skills, including time management, sense of responsibility and self-reliance. Furthermore, living abroad is also good to improve foreign language skills, which is an advantage in working condition. However, there are also some downsides for studying abroad. While there are many high-quality education institutions, it doesn’t ensure that the pupils are understanding the materials better. For example, in some recent studies, some Indonesian students performed worse while studying in Germany because of the language barrier, different pace and method of learning and difficulties to adapt to different way of living. Even though the local education institutions may have lesser quality of teaching, at least some students can learn better due to their fluency of the language, and lesser challenge to adapt to something new. Moreover, in some faculties such as Medical, the knowledge and skills learned in abroad universities may not be relevant to the skills required in the field. Therefore if Indonesian study Medical degree abroad, there are some requirements of additional study when they want to work as healthcare officials in Indonesia, to make sure that the students have the knowledge in the local recurring problems. In conclusion, while it may be beneficial to study abroad, there are also some disadvantages that students should be concerned with. Therefore, I do not think that studying abroad have more advantages than the disadvantages.