Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working overtime is becoming more popular in the modern world, especially among the young generation due to many causes which prevent them from having much spare time. There might be many favourable features for this matter. However, an array of disadvantages may be mentioned and both will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, working has a substantial role in developing people ’s personalities. The more individuals work, the more confident they may become as their working and social skills flourish. For instance, those with more working hours in a company develop independent and strong characters by gaining more experience which positively influences their self-confidence and also brings them higher job opportunities. Moreover, people might have a better feeling about making the best use of their time by not wasting it with hobbies. This tends to have a positive effect on their self-assurance. Nonetheless, there are some negative points that can be said about long working times. Firstly, people may be exhausted after long periods of working. This situation negatively affects their mental status. Based on the result of some medical research into mental health, the depression rate is higher among workaholics rather than among those with less working time. In addition, people can be exhausted after long periods of working which brings about many errors in doing their jobs. For example, provided that medical doctors had long shifts constantly, they would misdiagnose diseases due to fatigue. Thus, it said that having pastime is a must-have to rest the mind which results in decreasing the inaccuracy. To conclude, it seems that the disadvantages of working extra hours outweigh the advantages. Although working long hours brings many positive points for people such as improved character and skills, there may be dreadful negative considerations for them such as mental disorders and health risks.