Some experts believe that a second language should be taught at an early age. Do the advantages ouyweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, people’s tendency to know different languages has increased. In today’s climate, the issue of learning a new language in childhood has become a controversial minefield. While it is rational to accept that learning a second language at an early age can have a negative effect, it is more likely to bring benefits. The main justification why teaching a new language to children would not be fruitful is that it can lead to problems in speaking. Children may have difficulty separating two languages from each other, and this may lead to merging unrelated words to create a sentence. An illustration of this fact is kids whose mothers are bilingual. At an early age, they cannot talk fluently since they need time to think which word they should use. Another drawback is the fact that kids might not know the value of studying a new language. As a result of this fact they wont try hard to be professional in this field. For example, in Iran, parents send their children to English classes before they start primary school, however, not only does not this action have a positive result but also can result in hatred since kids are not doing it according to their opinion. On the other hand, it could be argued that these disadvantages are not comparable to its merits. First and foremost, studying a new language in childhood can foster the mind. The more they work with their mind and imagination, the stronger memory they can have in the future. An example of this fact is a Canadian boy who started to be taught a new language when he was 4 years old. Now, after 15 years, he knows over 20 foreign languages. The next merit is that they have more time to use this language in real-life experiences. Consequently, he can be familiar with the function of idioms and their usage. The individuals who learn a foreign language in maturity need severe practice to speak like a native person. What can be concluded from the discussion revolving around teaching children a new language is that the plus points surpass the possible pitfalls it could bring about.