Many countries offer a free health care system to their citizens rather than relying on private health care. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a free system, and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

In many countries, healthcare is provided by the government through national healthcare systems, while some countries tend to offer private healthcare to their residents. In this essay, I will discuss the main benefits of a free healthcare system and the problems it may cause for the population. In my point of view, the advantages and drawbacks of public healthcare vary depending on the types of medical services and segment of the population. The main advantage of a free healthcare system is that medical care for citizens of a particular country or region can be received free of any charge or at a very minimal cost. This is surely beneficial for the low-income segment of the population, as poor families cannot always afford the high prices of private medical institutions. Another benefit of government-based healthcare services is the high quality of sterilization processes of medical instruments. It is widely known that the government supplies hospitals and polyclinics with centralized sterilizing machinery and controls that the equipment is sterilized according to the highest standards, while not all private medical institutions strictly follow the rules and procedures of sterilizing. Talking about dental services, for instance, I prefer to approach public dental clinics, rather than private ones, because I am more likely to trust the governmental system of sterilization. Furthermore, a free healthcare system provides citizens with increased access to health services. As a result, even in the most remote areas of the country, these services are available for almost all residents of the country. On the other hand, the availability of free medical services presumes that more and more people are likely to approach public medical institutions to receive the treatment they need. Consequently, one obvious negative effect of free medical healthcare is long queues and wait times, which patients may find inconvenient when trying to receive a consultant-led treatment from a particular doctor. Moreover, this process can become even more complicated in countries offering free medical aid to their residents. Take my country Uzbekistan as an example where visiting a cardiologist or concentrated specialist, requires patients to get a referral from their therapist in the first place. As a consequence of this long waiting queues usually occur and create the above-mentioned challenges for the patients seeking medical assistance. Overall, the benefits of the availability of a free healthcare system outweigh the drawbacks, as they are affordable for low-income populations, provide easy access to healthcare services and are more reliable in terms of the medical instruments sterilization process.