Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Some people argue that studying English at school is more essential than traditional language. Although I believe as a universal language, it is important for children to learn English at school, there is still a way to maintain the traditional language as the legacy of culture so it will not be extinct easily. We have to understand that English as the global language which is used on many occasions and events should be taught to everyone. It is noticeable that the internet has made the world borderless, hence communication become the most important way to gain information. People only communicate through the same language, and many nations have already agreed to use English as their similar language. As one of the most used languages in the world, English is way more important to be learned by all people. Thus, it will be easier for them to connect within a borderless world. Some of the regions in this world have their local language which has been used for many years as part of the culture. It usually called a legacy from ancestors that needs to be preserved. However, there are many ways to maintain their local language so it will not be extinct anyway. One of it is by conducting the mandatory requirement in school that students should pass the examination of local language, either traditional or national. For example in Indonesia, where government has made a regulation for all student to learn their local language since elementary school. Therefore, children will always remember to preserve their local language as their legacy in everyday communication. In conclusion, it is very crucial for everyone to learn English because it has become an international language. Besides we can conduct on how to preserve the local language by making it as a mandatory requirement on passing the school grade for children.