People today get less sleep than in the past. What is the cause of this? What are the possible effects of this development? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays people are facing sleep deprivation compared to the past. I would argue that the main reason for this is cutting-edge technologies, and I also believe that this condition can result in being less productive and focused. The advancement of technologies has some negative effects on our life, including lack of sleep. In the past, people had to interact with each other eye-to-eye, while these days people can communicate remotely using their electronic devices such as handphones, computers and laptops. Furthermore, there are some appealing features to engage with families and friends offered by new technologies such as a video call on WhatsApp. Consequently, people have to devote the majority of time in using their gizmos in daily life as communication is a basic need for human beings, resulting in sleep deprivation. Nevertheless, from my perspective, lack of sleep can lead to a lot of detrimental effects. First and foremost, people who have sleep deprivation might lose their focus since they do not have enough rest. An example of this can be seen recently when some students cannot control their focus in class when they lack sleep. Secondly, another possible impact happened is being less productive. Psychologists from Indonesia, Suti and Tasmi, reveal that people who get less sleep tend to possess anxiety and emotional imbalance so they cannot maintain their work properly. In conclusion, I believe that the advancement of technology are primary reason for sleep deprivation among people presently. Moreover, this condition can result in disastrous effects on human productivity and focus.