Some people feel the best way to reduce the number of accidents on the road is to further limit the speed of vehicles. Others think that there are better ways to tackle this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Around the world, misfortune and car accidents can happen at times without selecting the victims. Many people believe there should be strict regulations to limit the velocity of vehicles. However, are there better solutions to this problem besides restricting the speed? I personally believe that there are many other possible ways to keep the disaster further away such as appropriate infrastructures and using safety technology on private vehicles. First of all, it is true that speed limits may increase the time reaction of the drivers. Consequently, it can potentially prevent accidents. In worse worst-case scenario, if there is an inevitable collision, the following impact will be probably less severe thanks to the low speed. However, this limitation is not enough. For example, there are several accidents that happen in Indonesia not only just because of human errors but also as a result of bad infrastructure and vehicle-related causes such as blind spots, etc. Therefore, we need to provide other mitigations as additions to the speed regulation. Technologies can also act as an active way to assist people while driving cars. Nowadays, there are some available technologies such as lane departure warning, blind spot assistants, and an automatic break if there is a possible collision. These advancements should be applied to all vehicles. One other possible solution is that the government should make sure road infrastructure has enough lighting and clearer signage. Because many accidents happen because of the sight limit of the driver In conclusion, the speed limit alone wouldn’t be enough to reduce accidents on the street. The application of safety technologies and better infrastructure can also contribute to providing a safe street for all. Hopefully, these combined solutions can mitigate unwanted incidents.