Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays huge portion of the general public started to feel exostion over spending on wildlife species preservation. I tend to disagree with them, and in this essay, I will provide my reasons for feeling that way. Firstly, trying to save endangered species isn’t that expensive, as people feel it is. Government agencies and NGOs whose focus is endangered animals have relatively small budgets. It isn't that costly to provide basic maintenance for infrastructure and a minimum of meals. The biggest spending generally is wages, but in some cases, a significant part of teams are filled with volantures volunteers, which reduces spending even more. Moreover, a huge percentage of money in this industry is provided by private donors. Overall, that makes the honourable task of saving our wildlife cheap. As an example, of all governments in the US all spending on wildlife is less than 1 per cent of the budget, and only a minority of that money goes on protecting animals that are listed in the red book. Secondly, all sorts of mammals, birds and fish became national symbols, that are worth protecting in order to preserve our culture. Forests and mountings were always inspirational for humans, as well as their inhabitants. From early on ancient Romans started to place eagles on their banners and ancient eruptions started to paint cants in their temples. Throughout the ages humans became tied up to their national nature, today it is impossible to imagine Persia without lions and Germany without an eagle. Thus, it is crucial for us to protect our endangered ancient companions, in order to protect who we are. As an example, today it is hard to think of Russia without bears, Russians use their bear in town banners, and in movies and Russian bear serves as the main international advertisement of Russia. It is safe to say that Russians are obligated to protect their bear, in order to protect who they are. In conclusion, I will say that it is truly important to protect our friends from forests and lakes. Because they are part of who we are, what our land is, and what our planet is.