Please outline your plans and strategies for actively participating in local and international communities throughout the IISMA program, and provide some concrete examples.

In general, my strategy to engage with the local and international communities is conducting deep research about the available communities in the universities and keep in mind that as an Indonesian student who is studying abroad, it is mandatory for me to portray a good impression about Indonesian students. Thus, I want to join an entrepreneurship community and meet people that have the same enthusiasm in business especially in social-health platforms. Besides enhancing my viewpoint of business, I can introduce the current development of Indonesia’s health technology platform. Furthermore, I will proudly bring my own business product which is a science-themed toy and explain it as an example of Indonesian student’s innovation. Henceforth, I aim to join the Startup Community Platform, part of the University of Edinburgh Innovations for Students. Both Monash University and University of Auckland also have centralized university hubs for students that are interested in entrepreneurship. Thankfully, their contact person for member registration is accessible through their official website so I can eventually enroll once I get accepted in IISMA. Nevertheless, for cultural exchanges, I plan to embrace the use of Bahasa Indonesia through singing because I have the ability in playing musical instruments like guitar and piano. I intend to join student communities such as Tandem Language Exchange at The University of Edinburgh, Bilingualism Matters at Monash University, and Let’s Talk language learning group at University of Auckland. In the learning process, I will divide the club’s members into a group of 4-5, and ask them to perform Indonesian songs in front of the peers. I would like to appreciate the best performance by giving them batik fabric so they can know better about Indonesian culture. To conclude, I believe the most important things in engaging with the communities are to be friendly, compassionate and warm-hearted. With my previous experience in socializing, I am confident that I am capable of building a close relationship with both local and international communities.