The only way to improve road safety is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many traffic incidents result in multiple fatalities, raising concerns among people about driving on dangerous roads. Therefore, many people say that the only way to improve highway security is to impose stricter punishments on drivers who break the law. This writer disagreed with this opinion, as I believe that there are other measures that are equally effective in ensuring road safety. Firstly, many certain accidents are caused by factors other than traffic offences. To elaborate, poor road conditions are considered a major reason for road casualties. For Instance, narrow roads and sharp curves often force even law-abiding drivers to make mistakes. Therefore, it should be noted that drivers alone cannot be blamed for such mishaps, and giving them stricter punishments in these cases is no solution. A more effective strategy by the government would be to straighten accident prone-curves and widen narrow roads. A larger number of road signs and proper traffic signals can also be effective in reducing accidents on roads. Moreover, poor climate conditions can be a major cause of accidents. For instance, poor visibility due to dense mist and rain, and slippery roads on account of snowfall make driving difficult and cause serious accidents in many countries. Stricter punishment for drivers is a futile exercise in handling such problems. Modern technological innovations on cars' wheels or on- road designs should be used to deal with such emergency situations. On the other hand, reckless driving, speeding, and breaches of traffic rules by careless drivers have caused many accidents. Moreover, drunken and drowsy driving has also resulted in serious traffic mishaps. While more stringent punishment for drivers would be an effective measure to an extent, it should not be considered the only way towards road safety. In conclusion, there are certain situations where drivers are not responsible for a particular accident, so apart from punishing drivers with heavier penalties other effective measures should also be taken.