In their advertising, bussiness nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advertising becomes increasingly popular in different markets. The firms are using various forms of adverts to popularize the novelty of their products to the public in order to make more profit. I suppose its a negative development which may harm the welfare of the consumers. Emphasizing the creative designs of the products can help the firms to attract more consumers. These advertisements can clearly and exaggeratedly show the advantages of these new goods to the buyers who may highly appeal to the effect shown on the advert and willing to pay high price to buy this improved product. For example, some smartphone producers usually underline the speciality of their new design, such as the color of the outer shell, in order to make some customers willing to pay higher price for the fascinating look. This means the producers could generate higher profit through advertisements. However, advertising may sometimes affect the interest of consumers. This happens when the improvements on the good is inconsequential which makes the customers find that the advantages stressed by the advertising is not significant to the function of the product. In this way, the consumers would lose their benefits after they had paid higher price for the good and realized their choice is irrational. As a result, the advertising sometimes affect the customers to make rational decisions during shopping and lose their interest due to the information gap. In conclusion, businesses usually aim to charge a higher price of their products through emphasizing their commodities sold are new in some way. But this sometimes misleads the consumers to do irrational purchasing and lose their benefits.