MANY PEOPLE THINK THAT MUSEUMS AND GALLERIES SHOULD ONLY SHOW WORK FROM LOCAL ARTISTS RATHER THAN WORK FROM OTHER COUNTRIES. DO YOU AGREE?

Art is an essential part of every country in the world. Some people believe that museums and galleries should only showcase the works of local artists instead of foreign artists. In my opinion, I completely believe in this notion. To begin with, the heritage and culture of a country could be seen through artworks. Galleries and museums are a good platform to showcase this. If the government will only allow the works of local artists in museums and galleries, they will be able to promote and show the unique culture, traditions, and identity of the nation. Moreover, there is a high chance for local artists to establish themselves within the community. Supporting their works would also give them a chance to be recognized worldwide. Thus, displaying their works in galleries in museum would greatly help local artists. In addition to that, this could also boost the tourism in the country. For example, a lot of people from overseas travel in order for them to see the incredible works of Picasso. Thus, showcasing the works of local artists could gain such popularity, hence increasing the tourism and economic growth of the country. Lastly, interest in art nowadays is undeniably decreasing. To have this kind of support could motivate local artists and emerging talents to continue their work, which helps in preserving the culture. In conclusion, though there are drawbacks associated with supporting only local artists in galleries and museums, we have to consider that its advantages could benefit local artists and the country in the long run.