It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading books is a good habit. Some people believe that it enhances our imagination and improves our language, while others believe that watching television is more convenient and accessible. In my opinion, I agree that reading is a great source of knowledge and it could also help reduce stress. To begin with, some might prefer to watch TV as it requires minimal effort and can be enjoyed in different settings, however, it does not stimulate the brain. Most shows depicts sex and violence, and not child-friendly. There is a high chance that children will imitate those kind of behavior especially if they watch it without supervision. This only proves that television was made to entertain not to educate. On the other hand, reading improves one's cognitive function. It encourages people to use their imagination to create mental images of the characters, settings and events. For instance, the reader have to imagine an elephant that is flying. There is no such thing in real life, thus imagination is needed to come up with it. Moreover, it also improves the language ability of a person. Most authors tend to use complex words when writing. This is very beneficial, especially for non-native English speakers. Readers have to check the dictionary in order to understand the meaning of the words they encounter. Thus, this widens their vocabulary. In addition to that, reading also helps reduce stress and promotes relaxation. There are books which were written by psychologists or doctors which people could use to help relieve anxiety. Those people who cannot afford therapists could read them in order to help them cope with life's challenges. Hence, reading books offers significant benefits to everyone. In conclusion, reading books not only provide people with continuous learning and social well-being, It gives us a new perspective and a deeper understanding of things. Thus, I believe that we should encourage more people to read books.