In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways in maintaining link with the past. How effective can traditional costume be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with the country’s past?

Every nation in the world has a different cultural background. This cultural heritage includes traditional language, culture, foods, and traditional costumes. One approach considered as a good idea to preserve the country’s heritage is by wearing traditional attire. Numerous nations have regulations to persuade society to wear this type of apparel at their national event. In my opinion, wearing traditional costume is a practical plan to protect the past. First of all, this can make the young generation embrace the richness of the country. For instance in Indonesia, every year this country celebrates their independence day on August, 17th and the attire code of this event is traditional clothes. All the Indonesian people on this day must wear their local apparel. By doing this, we can see the variety of clothes in the past, and feel related to that era. The second reason, it can enrich the knowledge of the future generation regarding the former history of the nations. Traditional wardrobe have many symbols that represent the value of their culture, for example, the colour, shapes and ornaments. By seeing this, the society will respect their history. However, there is another idea to help the citizen relate to the past. The society can visit the museums. There are a lot of museums spread all over the nations which display the history of the past. One of the examples is the Rotterdam Museum in Makassar. In this museum, the visitor can see the manuscripts and photos of South Sulawesi Province in the past. Not only photos, but there are also some documentary movies played every Thursday about the situation a long time ago. Watching movies and seeing the photos could help the people to feel the situation in the past. In conclusion, costume in traditional attire is one of the efficient ways to make the citizens associate with the past. Nevertheless, visiting museums could become another alternative action for the community to become more attached to their nation’s antiquity.