Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

People have been displaying immense interest towards vehicles since, the invention of the first car ever. Throughout the subsequent three decades, this mass demand for vehicles has compelled city roads to be occupied by cars, bringing about long congestion lines. It is my contention that this trend indeed spontaneously filling the roads with vehicles and alternative solutions such utilization of public transportation can be a pragmatic way to counter existing traffic issues. First and foremost, vehicle prices were considerably lower back then when cars were newly produced, therefore, solely the highest echelons of elites could purchase personal cars. In the contemporary world, car prices are continuously pulled down by manufacturers to encourage people to own their cars. Consequently, such salient price cuts in production expenses make cars affordable to individuals coming from every class, boosting automobile sales across the countries. It goes without saying that presently, almost every capital city witnesses hours of congestion in which hundreds of cars are stuck in one line. For example, Istanbul is notorious for accommodating the longest and lengthiest traffic jams in the world due to the highest car per capita ratio. Moreover, I think that these issues must be addressed by government authorities once and for all. It is true that public transportation is the biggest motivating factor to demoralize individuals from using cars or at least limit usage in cities to prevent traffic congestion. For example, the government of the Netherlands operates a unique tactic by exerting heavy taxes on exhaust vehicles to decrease the number of drivers in cities while persuading citizens to take comfortable bus and rail services. Additionally, the promotion of micro-mobility and environmental-friendly among people can also diminish the popularity of automobiles to a great extent. In conclusion, although vehicles are an easier and faster way of transportation in cities, they lay the foundations for critical problems like congestion, bringing a city to a standstill position by significantly affecting mobility at peak times.