Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems, people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the countryside To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that traffic and transportation are crucial issues that need to be addressed instantly. There is an argument that people should be encouraged to live in urban areas instead of suburbs. I disagree with the statement due to the overpopulation in cities and spreading inhabitants to other places. I will elaborate on this in my essay below. Firstly, the option to not encourage people to live in cities is reasonable as overpopulation has already appeared in most big cities. This is because numerous people migrate from rural areas in order to have more job opportunities. For example, it is prevalent that many conglomerates are located in enormous cities such as New York or Washington for their own sake. As a result, a large number of employees who work for them gather in one place, leading to traffic congestion during high peak times. In addition, the idea of spreading inhabitants is beneficial due to reduced population density. This can be explained by the fact that if people can accept living in the countryside instead of depending on big cities, traffic intensity could go down. For instance, when businesses see opportunities in other places, they will allocate factories, and take advantage of labourers and space. Consequently, not only urban areas can provide better jobs for workers but locations around the country can offer that. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, namely overpopulation and job chances, I maintain that people should not be forced to live in cities. It is advisable that the government support both individuals to decrease traffic jams.