More and more young people are watching real-life violence due to the growth of online videos on social networks. This could cause societal problems in the future. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

The growth of social media platforms, such as YouTube and Vimeo, has led to a wide range of video content including actual violence becoming readily available to view. Some believe that exposing young people to this kind of content may have a negative impact on society in the future. However, I would argue that this issue is less to do with the online content itself and more to do with parental responsibility and the way we as a society view violence. First of all, Young people have been exposed to violence in different formats for many years. There is upsetting and violent content on television, in films and sometimes in news reports. Of course, parents can monitor children's access to TV content – but parental controls are available on the Internet, too, so the issue is far more to do with how, or whether, parents control what children see, rather than how the content itself is delivered. Secondly, the importance of education and individual responsibility cannot be overstated. At home and in schools, children need to be taught not to be violent and to understand the difference between right and wrong. This is likely to have a more far-reaching effect on behaviour than any online video content. This is highlighted in cultural studies where children often follow the life patterns of their parents. In summary, the widespread availability of real-life violent content caused by the growth of online video on social media cannot be blamed for future societal problems. There has been violence in many types of media for a long time, and in any case, people are more than a sum of what they watch. Educated, rational people do not simply copy actions that they see in videos.