Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that learning another language can only help people who intend to go abroad or take a job in a foreign state, whereas others believe that there are more motives for this. I strongly agree with the latter idea and my reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that mastering a new language can provide individuals with greater employment possibilities in their homeland. Nowadays, most companies are in search of a workforce who are able to speak a foreign language. For instance, Mahsan Company in Tehran employs individuals who can speak and write in English. This company offer high salaries for its staff and many job seekers are willing to work for it. Furthermore, the capability of speaking in another language would raise one’s confidence and, in turn, assist people in developing excellent interpersonal skills. This opens the doors to promising career prospects and may boost the quality of life. On the other hand, another group of people claim that travelling to or working overseas is the only reason for learning a new language. They firmly insist that speaking a foreign language is not necessary for those who live and work in their motherland. However, I do not find this argument persuasive as research findings confirm that mastering another language has positive effects on both personal and professional life. Individuals are more successful in their careers and have more efficient brain functions. In conclusion, in my view, speaking in another language has a wide variety of advantages. Providing better job opportunities and improving communication skills are other benefits of learning a foreign language. Moreover, the memory of people who have learned a new language has more effective functions.