Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get the news. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Social media has been used by plenty of people worldwide to communicate with others and receive various news. This development has its pros and cons and I believe that the disadvantages outweighs the advantages. To start with, social media has now been the main line of communication for families and friends as it is an easy and fast way to get in touch. It has enabled long-distance family members to get updates from the extended family. For example, through Facebook messenger, my aunt living abroad receives the news that one of my cousins is getting married, which could take months if this news is sent through the mail. Also, social media has allowed news from various countries to spread faster internationally. This can be beneficial to people who like to get updated by world news. For example, during my flight back to New Zealand, I saw one post from my friend in Manila that there was a system outage in the airport and flights were delayed before it hit the news. This enabled me to properly plan steps I might take at the airport if there were any delays on my flight. On the other hand, utilising social media as a main line of receiving news is detrimental. There is a rise of fake news being spread. This can be harmful to a lot of people. For example, a famous actor in the Philippines was mentioned in a post where he supposedly stole chocolate bars from a convenience store. This story was proven to be fake and the person who posted the story now faces criminal charges. Also, the use of social media has led to plenty of people not socially interacting as it is easier to type than talk. It can negatively impact one's social skills as these skills are not being enhanced by the use of social media. For instance, recently met with a friend who is constantly scrolling through Facebook and she's more engaged on her phone rather than talking with me. She said to me that she was talking to another friend online. In conclusion, social media has its benefits such as an easy line of communication and it can spread news easily but personally, the disadvantages such as increased fake news and decreased social skills outweigh the advantages.