Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about which type of roads should get more financial support from the government. While some people claim that it has to be railway systems, there are those who p[[pse this view, pointing on the roads ' importance. This paper will attempt to examine both sides of the argument. The railways in people's mind may seem like an old-fashioned way of transportation, however it still has some undeniable advantages. First of all, transportation of products through country is cheaper and faster. The trains today use very small amount of fuel, whereas some of them work due to electricity, which let them to be the fastest transport, except the planes. Secondly, the risk of an accident is minimized, thanks to approved system, used for years. Thridly, the development of railway system leads to the improvement of small towns and regions by providing workplaces for local people. The best example is Japan, where the train is the fastest and the cheapest variant to travel around the country, but not only to big cities with airports, but to regions. At the same time, the roads, which are used daily by millions of people must be repaired by government on a regular basis. These ways connect not only stations, but streets and housings. The quality of roads in the city influence on the traffic conjestion and air pollution in the city, that is why the better the roads and their structure, the easier the life of the citizens. Additionally, the roads are easier to build, so every region citizen will have an ability to drive to the city daily, which can help the future development of the city's economy. On the other side, people from a big city may travel to the regions and provide financial aid to the region's tourism. I think, the best example is Rodina town in Kostanay region. People spend an hour to get there, to buy groceries and visit cultural centres. In conclusion, I think both types of roads must get financial support from the govermnent, because they develop regions ' economics and hundreds of people use them daily.