In recent times it has become increasingly popular for people to research their family history. What do you think are the reasons behind this?

One relatively new trend has been the growth in popularity of researching family histories. The following will discuss this topic and examine the factors that have led to this trend. The primary factor behind the recent increase in the popularity in genealogy is technological development, mostly the Internet. Prior to such development, if one wished to find out about their ancestors, they would have to trawl through piles of musty old records by hand. Now that so many records have been digitalized(USA, digitized UK) and are easily accessible, the task has become much simpler. The interenet has also made it much easier to get in touch with distant relatives and exchange information, further simplifying the process. There are also some social factors at work. In the late 1980s, there were many reports discussing the increase in popularity of genealogy, indicating the internet is not the only factor. Some have suggested that as living standards increased, people found that they had more leisure time at their disposal, giving them the time needed to undertake what can sometimes be quite lengthy research. It is possible that people have always been curious about their ancestors to some extent, it is just today people now have the time and the means to research properly. The increasing number of people researching their family history in recent years has also been put down to/attributed to the influence of the media. The successful UK series Who Do You Think You Are has been influential in getting many interested in genealogy for the first time. The format has been adopted in many other countries and the recent boom in interest in researching family history in the US has directly attributed to the show. Genealogy has also become more widespread in popular culture, with plot lines of several films and series focusing on the tracing of distant relatives, adding a certain glamour to what can be seen by some as a rather dull hobby. In summary, the growth in the popularity of genealogy can largely be attributed to the three factors above.