Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people claim that good health plays a crucial role in their lives. Therefore, there is a debate that private hospitals should not provide medical services. Although this scenario can offer several merits and demerits, this essay will argue that the benefits of this eclipsed the drawbacks. On the one hand, private hospitals also cause several shortcomings. Given that the private centre provides convenient medical services, the patients have to pay exorbitant costs. By doing this, patients must expend high bills, which is not suitable for poor people especially those without medical insurance. Moreover, social inequalities for applying medical services increase because some poor residents can not afford expensive costs. For instance, people who own rich property can receive prompt and high-quality care, however, others only face lower services in the public category. This leads to discrimination in people’s services even untimely treatment in emergency situations. On the other hand, despite the detrimental aspects, the private healthcare centre brings some positive aspects. First, it can reduce the workload of public medical hospitals. With the appearance of many private companies, the number of patients going to the public will decrease. This can result in a decrease in the experience of waiting times of inhabitants who make an appointment with doctors as well as reduce the shortage of experts about health. Another advantage is that the private healthcare company gives more opportunities for patients to access cutting-edge quality services and professionals from specific fields immediately depending on their excellent financial resources. This hospital tends to invest more money in improving modern amenities with state-of-the-art equipment and technologies, which allows patients to receive top medical procedures and treatments than the public centre. In conclusion, while private healthcare offers some disadvantages such as high cost and healthcare inequalities, these will bring more advantages including reducing the workload or advanced technologies. It seems to me that the merits are more considerable than its demerits.