Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people claim that the government funds should not be wasted on arts, instead, the money can be used in other important things. I agree with this statement because the government officials can use the money in solving social issues such as education, infrastructure and unemployment. One of the prevailing problems in the society today is lack of education. Rather than investing in arts, government funds can be allocated in enhancing the education system of the country. For example, it can be used in building science and computer laboratories in public schools. With this, students will be able to develop and enhance their skills. This is very beneficial in today's world as the fields in science and technology is growing rapidly. As a result, students will be more globally competent. In addition to that, the budget can also be redistributed in funding infrastructure projects, such as public transportation. Improving the public transport sectors can help decrease the traffic congestion, as well as the carbon gas emissions, and it will create job opportunities. Moreover, unemployment problem could also be addressed by promoting vocational training programs in order to enhance and provide practical skills to people. This initiative can create pathways to in-demand skills. Thus, it can promote economic growth. In conclusion, though arts contribute to the culture of the society, I believe that it is not the best way to utilize the taxpayer’s money. Rather, it can be used in solving the issues in the society such as education, infrastructure and unemployment.