Some people think that to ensure a happier society, there should be only a small difference in the earninings between the poorest and the richest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, there are many economic and mental health issues. Some folks suggest that to tackle these problems, there should be a policy in nations which the wealth of the poorest and the richest citizens have a little gap. I totally disagree with this statement, as it causes people to lose their need to work hard and to eliminate their hopes for finantial growth. Firstly, small difference between salary for all the groups of society makes people lose the will to try for better conditions. It makes them clinge clinging clingy to their current unsuitable situation as their income will be as much as those who put their effort to improve their lives. For instance, if the earnings of an unemployed and lazy person would be as much as a doctor who spent years of studying, he will never try to change and make a better life for himself. So it should be a gap between their income because it causes people to gain mobility to work harder. Secondly, this policy will make the individuals feel hopeless about growing finantially. They know that their salary will never rise from a certain limit to prevent widening the hole between the amount of earnings. So, at some level they stop putting effort because no matter how high they reach in their career, there would be no profits for them in it. Hence, there should be a growth in salaries due to the stage of professionalism in careers so that people feel encouraged to continue trying. Overall, I fully disagree with the policy that there should always be a small hole between the earnings of the poorest and the richest members of the society. It removes the interest of enhancing life conditions in citizens and it makes them stop trying for getting better at their jobs because of the limit of their payments. It is recommended that we encourage people to work and learn professions to remove poverty.