A REPORT INDICATED THAT MANY CHILDREN BETWEEN 7 AND 11 SPEND TOO MUCH TIME WATCHING TELEVISION AND / OR PLAY VIDEO GAMES. HOW DOES THE PROBLEM AFFECT THE CHILDREN? WHAT MEASURES CAN BE TAKEN TO CONTROL IT?

A survey discovered that there is a growing amount of hours spent watching television and/or video games among children aged 7–11. I think this issue can discourage their thinking ability, and parents should restrict it to overcome this matter. To begin with, watching TV and playing games too much can inhibit cognitive skills. This is due to the fact that this practice can lead to a shorter attention span and a struggle with focus. For example, a neuroscience study suggests that children who devote the majority of their attention to gadgets have a lower ability to read books than those who don't. It implies that this behaviour can cause them to hardly do activities with high focus, such as reading novels. As a result, they may find it difficult to excel in their academic studies and improve their knowledge. To address this concern, parents should limit screen time for their kids. In other words, this approach can influence them to do various activities rather than recreational ones. For instance, there is an app called Opal that can block other applications after being used for a certain time. With this feature, individuals can regulate the maximum period admissible for specific applications, including Netflix and HBO; consequently, it will block these applications if the limit is reached. Subsequently, adults can invite their youngsters to participate in further interesting hobbies such as sports, gardening, or cooking. In conclusion, young generations that spend most of their moments doing entertainment, particularly films and gaming, may have lower intellectual abilities and find it hard to concentrate; thus, their parents ought to encourage them to cut back on their gadget routines and engage in alternative exciting ones.