People are wearing western-style clothes rather than more traditional clothes. Why is this? Is it a negative or positive development?

Western-style clothing is becoming more and more prevalent than classical dresses in many parts of the world. There are some underlying reasons or trends leading to this phenomenon, which is inevitably ongoing. However, although it indeed has an upside impact on the development of a nation, we should not ignore its downside on conventional cultures. The dominance of Western-style clothing has been credited with two main factors- the prosperous Western economies and the triumph of cultural transmission. First, economic relations and investments have mainly been initiated and powered by abundant capital among Western countries, so the developing partners sought more common grounds by dressing the same and introducing suits and ties for business. Secondly, western movies and series conveyed the lifestyle including wearing, and spread it in a global context. For instance, we saw that youngsters decades ago first adopted that fashion and garment producers began to promote Western domestic clothes such as jeans, sneakers and pyjamas, resulting in its prevalence over time. The popularity of Western attire benefits the locals but has an apparent negative impact on their culture as a whole. For example, on formal occasions, the immigrated clothing is surely convenient in that people can show similar values and appreciation, and on informal ones, ordinary consumers can relax and be appreciated by wearing casual shirts and jeans in accordance with the mainstream. Furthermore, in the field of production and consumption, this stream facilitates producers in low-cost manufacture, which means that merely minor adjustments can meet the mass demand and thus commodities become more affordable than ever. On the downside, traditional costumes, a significant part of local culture, have been ignored and may eventually perish without designed preservation. Moreover, the assimilation may weaken the attraction of domestic tourism and dim the cultural identity among its people, let alone the dull unity of dressing. In conclusion, this major change has its historical and inevitable causes. I believe that it could coexist well with traditional clothes when people can pick up practical suits for daily wear and dress up classical ones in special celebrations such as festivals and weddings.