In some culutres,childern are often told that they can acheive anthing if they try hard enough. what are the advantage and disadvantage on giving childern this message ?

Some children are taught that everything can be achieved if they put maximum efforts. In my opinion, there are several benefits and drawbacks of telling this mindset to children. To begin with, one of the benefits is that kids's motivation to perform well will boost if they believe that hard work will lead to something fulfilling. The shift of mindset will help them to be more positive, even though they are facing tough challenges. Moreover, they might also feel more confident as they foresee that they will get positive outcomes. To illustrate, a boy who is going for a singing competition is told by his vocal teacher that he needs to practice 5 days a week. As he believes that regular practice will help him to win the competition, he is very motivated to do the practice, thus he also becomes more confident in his preparation. In contrast, there might also be some drawbacks, such as the feeling of nonsense from kids who are told to believe that every hard work will bring good outcome. They might feel that there are multiple factors that influence the result, not only individual effort. For instance, a student is told by her mother that she can enter top school if she study hard enough. However, despite being diligent in study, the school application result may also be influenced by the performance of other students who are taking the application. Thus, even with growth mindset, some things are uncontrollable. In conclusion, the belief of having good result from hard work may increase children's self esteem which can actually impact how they approach something to achieve their target. On the other hand, it might also result in hard feelings if the children fail to achieve what they want despite having this belief.